WIP Marathon Intro

Marathon Goal:

This is my first time joining in on a wip marathon and I’m excited about it! My wip is currently sitting at about 25K and I’d like to add 40K by February 1st to bring it to 65K. At that point, I should be within 15-25K of the end.

Stage of writing:

This is a major rewrite of a story I first wrote 2-3 years ago. A good chunk of the plot has changed and I’m really trying to focus on making my writing more engaging so that readers are drawn into the story.

What inspired my current project:

My wip is an urban fantasy story set in my hometown of Vancouver, Canada. For a long time I wanted to write a story about a girl who could see through magical disguises. I also wanted to write a story featuring two brothers with a fun sibling relationship. I meshed those two ideas together and started writing the story as a pilot television script. After getting stuck partway in, I decided to change it into a novel and wrote the first version. This time around I’ve changed much of the plot and have also incorporated magical/supernatural creatures that aren’t as over-used as the ones in the previous version.

What might slow down my marathon goal: Β 

The holidays! I love decorating for Christmas and I’m already spending time doing that. I always like to take time out to play Christmas music on the piano during December, since that’s one of my favourite things to do. Also, I can say with almost absolute certainty that I won’t be writing from December 24 to the 27th as I’ll have friends from Japan visiting. However, I set my marathon goal with those things in mind. If not for the holidays, I probably would have set my goal at 50K so I’m hoping that adding 40K will be manageable.

Best time of the day for writing:

I prefer to write in the morning, but I can’t do that on days when I’m working. On work days, I typically write in the late afternoon.

I look forward to getting to know everyone else who’s involved in this wip marathon! πŸ™‚

16 Comments

  1. November 29, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    A girl that can see through magical disguises sounds so fun! Would definitely love to read! I like writing in the mornings too so maybe you’d inspire me. And did I mention it’s also a rewrite for me? *too many similarities*

    Good luck with your WIPMarathon goal, Sarah!

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      November 29, 2013 at 2:09 pm

      Thanks, Ifeoma! Good luck to you too! It does seem like we share several similarities. πŸ™‚

  2. Cheyenne said,

    November 29, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Nice to meet a fellow first-time WIPMarathoner! Best of luck with your goals! I’d *love* to be a proficient enough piano player to play Christmas carols (or anything) without five-second interludes after every note ;).

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      November 29, 2013 at 2:36 pm

      Thanks and nice to meet you too, Cheyenne! I’m not a terribly proficient piano player but I do love playing Christmas carols. πŸ™‚

  3. November 29, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    Welcome to the WIPMarathon! Your idea sounds really cool – I love urban fantasy. Best of luck with your rewrites! πŸ™‚

  4. amandashayne said,

    November 30, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    Good luck with your goals, Sarah! Mine, too, is going to be a major rewrite, I think. I have to wait and see once I dive into it. Let’s do this! πŸ™‚

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      November 30, 2013 at 2:33 pm

      Thanks! This is the first time I’ve majorly rewritten something so it’s both overwhelming and exciting.

  5. krystal jane said,

    December 1, 2013 at 2:30 am

    I love playing Christmas music, too. πŸ™‚
    I have an idea that started off as a video game concept and spun into a novel. Spinning stuff is fun.

    Good luck with this project! Welcome to the marathon!

  6. Skye McCraw said,

    December 1, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    Yippee for rewrites! I’ll be tackling one too, and it’s my first time to really invest serious work in a project to make it better. I’m a little nervous, so I’m glad you’ll be here working through it too! Good luck!

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      December 2, 2013 at 9:30 am

      Sounds like we’re in the same boat! Good luck to you too! πŸ™‚

  7. Yael Itamar said,

    December 1, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    I love sibling stories! Good luck!

  8. December 2, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    I love decorating for the holidays, too! Good luck with your 40k goal, Sarah!


Leave a Reply

