WIPMarathon Check-In #2

Last Check-in Wordcount: 27,847.

Current Wordcount: 31,098.

I know, I didn’t add a whole lot this week. Not even half of what I need to be adding on a weekly basis to meet my goal. But the chances of me actually meeting my goal are pretty slim now. I’ll keep trying though.

WIP Issues this week:

While no longer sick, I was still suffering from after-flu exhaustion this past week and struggled to get things done. Plus, this wip is just moving slowly. I was feeling really blah about the upcoming chapters, which slowed me down even more. But I know that when I feel that way it means that something’s wrong with the plot/scene/chapter. Yesterday I came up with a way to change things up. I’m excited about the new ideas so I’m hoping I’ll be able to make more progress this coming week. (Fingers crossed!)

What distracted me this week while writing:

I spent some of my writing time rewriting song lyrics for holiday songs. I wrote three different, personalized versions of 12 Days of Christmas as gifts for my critique partners. Then I rewrote Let It Snow for querying writers (I Must Wait). I’m glad I took the time for that though. The lyrics seemed to make my CPs happy and when my CPs are happy, I’m happy. πŸ™‚

I still don’t feel comfortable sharing my last 200 words. Too messy.

I hope everyone makes good progress in the week to come!

6 Comments

  1. December 14, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    You still did great this week!
    I know that blah feeling too, it got me stuck on my first two chapters for several weeks.

    Glad the plot bunny struck you and hopefully, it’d be breezy all the way for you now.

    Good luck next week! You will MAKE it!

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      December 15, 2013 at 10:54 am

      Thanks so much, Ifeoma! Already things are better. I wrote 600 words before breakfast today and now I’m adding more. Far better than any other day recently! πŸ™‚

  2. krystal jane said,

    December 14, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    That’s awesome you found a way to be excited about your story again! You’re definitely right. If you’re not excited about the upcoming chapters something is wrong.

    I also have quite the mess on my hands. πŸ™‚
    Glad you’re feeling better. Cheers to making even more progress next week.

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      December 15, 2013 at 10:56 am

      Thank you! It’s so much easier to get the words down when I’m excited about the story. Good luck with your project this week! πŸ™‚

  3. Cheyenne said,

    December 16, 2013 at 4:28 am

    Aww, hope you’re feeling better soon. And your CPs are totally lucky — that’s such a sweet and thoughtful gift! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

