WipMarathon Final Check-in

Last Check-in Wordcount: 31,098.

Current Wordcount: 75,688.

Okay, so I’m a terrible wipmarathoner and haven’t checked in since the second week BUT despite getting sick in December and thinking there was no way I could meet my original goal, I actually ended up surpassing it! My goal was to write 40,000 words and I’ve written 50,000. Not only that, I’m within 3000 words of finishing this draft. So, despite the fact that I’ve been terrible at checking in, I’m super happy with what I’ve accomplished. πŸ™‚

WIP Issues this week:

I did have a moment of panic the other day when I became aware of a potential problem with my story and suddenly decided that maybe the whole thing was a piece of crap. But once I calmed down I realized that the problem isn’t a huge deal and can be dealt with during edits. Other than that, this wip entirely took over my life this week. It was like I was possessed or something. I couldn’t stop writing, the words wouldn’t stop coming out of me. On Thursday I wrote around 3000 words, which is more than I’ve written in one day ever before. I’ve written about 35,000 words this month, which smashes my previous monthly record of 25,000 words. So, yay!

What I’ve learned during the marathon:

I’ve learned that I’m capable of writing much more in one month than I realized. I’ve also learned that even though a massive rewrite is extremely difficult, I can still handle it. Hopefully knowing that will help me with future projects.

Even though I didn’t participate much on the blogs, I’ve enjoyed being part of this wipmarathon. I hope everyone else is as happy with their progress as I am with mine! πŸ™‚

14 Comments

  1. January 31, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    Woot congrats! That’s a great finish to a wonderful marathon. Well done! πŸ™‚

  2. Yael Itamar said,

    January 31, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    Wow, 50,000 words and an almost-finished draft. Congratulations!

  3. January 31, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    Congratulations. I don’t know what a WIP marathon is though, but it sounds like it might be interesting. Good work on the draft!

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      February 2, 2014 at 11:57 am

      Thank you! A wip marathon is basically a group of writers supporting each other during a set period of time. We set goals at the beginning, cheer each other on, and use the #wipmarathon hashtag on Twitter to keep in touch. I’m sure there will be more in the future if you’re interested in joining in. πŸ™‚

  4. krystal jane said,

    January 31, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    Awesome! Congratulations on all the progress you’ve made! I so love that feeling when you can’t stop working on something. ^_^

    I totally live by an “editing fixes everything” philosophy.

    Congrats on breaking your monthly record! Have fun with the rest of this story!

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      February 2, 2014 at 11:53 am

      Thank you! I’ve got just one scene left now. Exciting! πŸ™‚

  5. February 1, 2014 at 10:08 am

    You rock, Sarah!!! That was AWESOME.

    It’s a good sign when the words don’t stop coming, there’s a good chance your readers would love it too! So go you! And congrats on being real close to finishing!

    ❀

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      February 2, 2014 at 11:54 am

      Thanks so much, Ifeoma! I hope people will love this story! πŸ™‚

  6. amandashayne said,

    February 1, 2014 at 11:49 am

    Congratulations on all that writing!!

  7. February 5, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    Amazing!! You’ve been super productive and that’s definitely inspired me! I second what Ifeoma said… if the words are coming that quickly, the readers are going to feel that vibe when they get sucked in. Congratulations!

    • Sarah L Fox said,

      February 10, 2014 at 5:00 pm

      I really hope readers will get into it! Will start in on editing this week. Thank you!!! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

