Lessons Learned

Last week I wrote a post about my path to publication. (You can find it here). This week I wanted to touch on a few things I learned during my journey.

#1. Not everyone will believe in your goals, but that doesn’t mean you can’t achieve them.

I didn’t tell a lot of people about my writing until I was published. My family, a few close friends, and the writing community were the only people who knew I was trying to get my book published. Part of that was because I didn’t want to be constantly asked “when will your book be published?” and part of it was because I knew some people would probably laugh in my face. Once when I told someone that I wanted to be a writer, that person scoffed at me as if I’d said I wanted to be Santa Claus and drive a sleigh pulled by flying reindeer. But now I am a published writer. So some people might think your goal of becoming a published writer is nothing but a pipe dream, but with hard work and perseverance, it can become reality.

#2. Even if your path to publication doesn’t unfold how you’d hoped or planned, that doesn’t mean you won’t become a published writer.

My path to publication took several twists and turns and I went from picturing myself as a TV writer to hoping to be a mystery writer. The book that got me my agent and my book deal was the fourth book I’d written and the third book I’d queried. Nothing happened how or when I had hoped when I first decided I wanted to be a writer, but things have worked out extremely well for me nonetheless and I’m loving where I am right now. So even if you come across unexpected obstacles or your writing path takes some unplanned turns and detours, don’t give up hope. As long as you keep writing and trying, you can keep moving forward.

#3. No two paths to publication are the same.

It’s so easy for us writers to compare ourselves to other writers, especially when we see lives and writing journeys unfold on social media. But it doesn’t matter if the things that are happening to writer X and writer Y aren’t happening to you at the same time. Your path to publication is yours alone and it will never be exactly the same as anyone else’s. The fact that others are having success when you aren’t doesn’t mean that you won’t find success down the road.

Those are a few things I’ve learned over the years. I’m still learning more every day, and hopefully that will continue for the rest of my writing days. For those of you who are hoping to become published writers in the future, I hope this post has been helpful.

3 Comments

  1. authoramandamccoy said,

    August 10, 2015 at 8:50 am

    Thank you, this post made my morning!

  2. August 13, 2015 at 10:02 am

    […] Fox lists lessons learned on the way to publication, and Warren Adler discusses confronting bad book reviews. James Scott Bell also offers some advice […]


Leave a Reply

